top of page
Search
  • Annika B

DIY Bathroom Accent Shelf

Updated: Mar 12, 2021

I love slanted ceilings. Not only do they remind me of Europe (insert childhood memories here) but they are so unique and have so much potential! On the other hand though, I never realized how challenging it might be to create functional spaces out of them. Silly me. Still, I wanted to tackle this task, almost as badly as my husband did! 🤪 So we looked at different ideas that could work for our small space and came up with this very rough sketch below:


 

Next step, Home Depot for supplies! Side Note: BIG shout to Ken at Home Depot who was a gem and made my first wood choosing and cutting experience a breeze! You da man!


Here is what we used:


4 pieces of wood at 5 inches each

2 pieces of wood at 20 inches each

1 piece of wood at 10 inches

Pack of 3 inch Corner Braces (includes 4 braces)

Pack of long stainless steel screws for connecting wood pieces (for strong hold)

Sanding Paper (for wood edges after cutting and for wood before spray painting)

Titebond Wood Glue (we used this for areas where we couldn’t nail the boards together)

Krylon Colormaxx Paint and Primer in white


 

After some trial and error, especially with trying to get the boards together properly for ultimate stability, we figured it out! We aren't pros, but I think we did pretty good for our first time building a fixture. What do you guys think? Process and results in the pictures and video below!


Also, a BIG thank you for reading my blog today and following along on our projects! As always, if you have any questions or comments add them below, or contact me privately through the 'CONTACT' section on my homepage! Until next time, my friends! Happily Ever DIY.







55 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page