top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureAnnika Benny

DIY Rustic Plant Wall Art

Hey guys, it's been a minute but I'm back just in time for some weekend projects! First on the list, DIY plant wall art! Our walls are still very much bare so I figured it's time to add some art, DIY style of course. I was very excited for this project because I have seen similar projects and wanted to add my own twist to it.

Here's what I used:


Printer paper (4)

Pen/Thin point marker

Cricut for cutting paper

10 inch x 10 inch thin wood (4 pieces from Home Depot that they cut to my sizing for $6!)

Carpet Nails (1 pack) $2 at Home Depot

Sheer Beige Tissue Paper (for gifts)

Velcro circles to hold up pictures


Before I started, I googled some simple images and outlines of plants and herbs. Once I found four that I liked I drew them on white printer paper.



Next I cut my paper into squares (8 inches by 8 inches) with the help of my Cricut. You can also leave them like this and get wood that's more rectangle but I preferred the square look for the area I'm placing them in.


Once they were cut I got my sheer tissue paper and wrapped my images face down.



When the wrapping is complete, this is what it should look like from the front:


Keep in mind that you can also use coffee or tea to stain the paper to give it that "old and withered look" if you don't have gift tissue paper on hand.

Once this step is complete you can place your images in a book for a few hours to really flatten the image so there is no open air pockets between the paper and tissue (I kept them in a book overnight).


In the morning I mounted my paper art to my wood pieces (10inch x 10inch) with carpet nails. SIDE NOTE for anyone curious why I used carpet nails, it's because they look old, worn and add to the rustic vibe, you feel me? :D


I used a hammer to put the nails in place but only hit them in once (sometimes twice) so they still stick out (as to not damage or penetrate the wood completely, but just enough to hold the paper in place.)


When I completed all four, I placed some Velcro on the top back pieces of the wood and attached them to the wall. Since the wood is so light weight, this works perfectly and doesn't require me to put holes in my wall!


Here is the finished, mounted product!



I hope you enjoyed today's project and thank you for visiting and following along on my blog!


As always, Happily Ever DIY my friends.

17 views2 comments

Recent Posts

See All

2 Comments


Jennifer Reinert
Jennifer Reinert
09. 4. 2021

Love the rustic vibe!

Like
Annika Benny
Annika Benny
09. 4. 2021
Odpovedať používateľovi

Thank you! Me too 🥰

Like
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page